Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Let yourself be heard in our official polls!

Should I remove the wilderness ditch?

No, leave it in. I like having it anyway!
17
25%
No, leave it in, I don't care either way
21
31%
Leave it in for now, but look into this again sometime in the future because it would be nice not having it
12
18%
Yes, invest the time and effort. I don't want no fracking wilderness ditch.
17
25%
 
Total votes : 67
Programmer
User avatar
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: PkHonor HQ

Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Mike » Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:31 pm

I'm guessing most of you are thinking "we don't need no stinkin' wilderness ditch!", but the thing is: the new client comes with all OSRS maps, including the ditch. So it's pretty much a "gotta take it with the package" thing.

However, I might be able to hack my way around it by overwriting parts of the new map with parts from the original PkHonor map, but I honestly have no idea how to actually do that so it'll probably take quite some to figure out how to do it and whether it's even really possible (or viable) in the first place.
I already tried replacing it with an object but that just leaves a black void where the actual ditch part is and I'm afraid there isn't much I can do to get rid of that :P
Image

I had managed to load the construction world map into PkHonor back when I first started working on Construction a few years ago, but that was a whole 64x64 map, not just bits and pieces of a map. I'd most likely need to extract small pieces of the PkHonor map and paste it onto the OSRS map, otherwise the whole edge of the wilderness will be buggy as hell.

Taking that into account, please let me know whether you want me to invest the time and effort in trying to remove the wilderness ditch, or just leave it as it is.

Or maybe we'll just get back to this in the future.

Honor Player
User avatar
Posts: 4582
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 6:30 pm
Location: kbd

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Rwter » Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:40 pm

But then I can't tradelure people :(

Spoiler: show
It doesn't matter, just do whatever's easier.
Image

Rookie
User avatar
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 7:31 am

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Juanes » Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:46 pm

The black void looks good to me, as long as you can run across it normally, I think it's unique and shows were the wilderness starts.

Premium Donator
User avatar
Posts: 2485
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 5:23 am
Location: vault 111

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Alex » Tue Aug 09, 2016 10:13 pm

Whatever makes the transition easier for you Mike, it's already a big project.
Image

Premium Donator
User avatar
Posts: 17451
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:42 am
Location: Over there in that one place

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Azu rite » Tue Aug 09, 2016 10:16 pm

Keep it for now
Image

Premium Donator
User avatar
Posts: 1723
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:00 pm

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Subnet » Tue Aug 09, 2016 10:23 pm

Azu rite wrote:Keep it for now

^ Or forever

Premium Donator
User avatar
Posts: 2190
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:08 am

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Grizzly mint » Tue Aug 09, 2016 10:41 pm

First comes wilderness ditch, then comes a trade limit, then comes EOC. Rip PKH.

OT: whatever is easier. I prefer no ditch but that can always come later.
Image

Unstoppable
Posts: 7731
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 4:33 pm

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Rick » Tue Aug 09, 2016 11:42 pm

Can't you just leave the ditch as it is, but make it so you can just walk through it?
Image

Developer
User avatar
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 11:50 pm
Location: Generally ::skilling

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Skiller » Wed Aug 10, 2016 12:44 am

Just complete the client as is for now, can worry about this later. It's just a single click, oh no!

Premium Donator
User avatar
Posts: 529
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 7:49 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Wilderness Ditch - yay or nay?

Postby Iron midas » Wed Aug 10, 2016 4:35 am

Jeremy wrote:Just complete the client as is for now, can worry about this later. It's just a single click, oh no!
Image

Next

Return to Polls

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest